Dear diary I had the “Blankest Year”…

This post is late. But I’m going to post it like it wasn’t because why the hell not? Here goes…

2014 in general, when looking back in history/pop culture, seems like it’s going to be written off as a shit year. Personally it wasn’t my worst, but as my friend Joe stated in a Facebook update comment “It was 10/10 in some respects, 0/10 in several others — perhaps more — so I’m giving it a 5, maybe a 6 if I wanna be optimistic. In any case, not awesome.” While my personal life was a mishmash of highs and lows (compared the the previous years major lows), when I was reminded of this song due to a nostalgia trip to high school/undergrad music playlists, I couldn’t help but feel the sentiment of this song applied.

Last New Years I was completely alone and may or may not have aurally witnessed a traumatic event outside my apartment and did dick all about it because I was stuck in a vortex of fear and depression. (Ok it didn’t happen that night, but my memories are fuzzy and I can’t remember if it happened before or after NYE. Still the guilt is/was there). Anyways, this year when my friend Claire said she was coming down from Toronto for the holiday I was pumped to not be alone and to actually have a reason to leave my apartment. I didn’t know what I was going to do, but eventually I decided to just follow along with the song and subsequently thought “Oh, fuck it / I’m gonna have a party!” Because what other way am I going to reward myself for getting through another year?

Blankest Year

by Nada Surf

Oh, fuck it
I’m gonna have a party

I had the blankest year
I saw life turn into a tv show
it was totally weird
the person i knew
I didn’t really know

time don’t move
we’re the only ones who do
bending a reason
coz it’s all we hold on to

I had the blankest year
I saw life turn into a tv show
it was totally weird
the person i knew
I didn’t really know

and now it’s lonely
thank god the band’s doing well
but you don’t own me
I’d like to return this spell
cos’ it’s not my size
your lies are so much bigger
than my lies
and your ties are made of things
that shouldn’t make ties

Oh, fuck it
I’m gonna have a party

Leave a Reply

